Cottingham, Robert

Bob Cottingham
School: Columbia College
Weapon: Sabre
Coach: Aladar Kogler

Robert “Bob” Thomas Cottingham, Jr. competed in the 1988 and 1992 Summer Olympic Games in Seoul and Barcelona and was the 1990 USFA Individual National Champion as well as a member of the New York Fencer’s Club National Championship Team during the years: 1986, ‘87, ‘88, ‘90, and ’92. He was a Pan Am Team silver medalist in 1987 in Indianapolis. Bob was a World Championship Team member 1986, 1987, 1989 and 1990. Cottingham was a Junior world team member in 1985 and 1986 and the Junior Pan American champion in 1986 in Mexico City. He was a member of the 1989 and 1991 World University Games Teams in Duisburg, Germany and Sheffield, England.

Cottingham was coached by Maestro Aladar Kogler and on the collegiate level Cottingham compiled a career record of 108-11 while at Columbia. He was named NCAA Fencer of the Year in 1988 after leading his team to its second consecutive national championship and earning an NCAA individual title that same year. The four-time All-American and four time first team all-Ivy received the Connie S. Maniatty Award for his outstanding career as a Columbia student-athlete.

He continued to make an impact in the sport as a member of the United States Fencing Association Executive Committee. Bob also served on the voting committee where membership voting disputes and irregularities were addressed. Cottingham received his juris doctorate from Rutgers and now serves as chairman and chief executive officer of Sabre88, a global consulting firm applying capabilities in technology, public policy, international affairs, health care and education to government and commercial clients. Much of his time today is also devoted to the Peter Westbrook Foundation, a nonprofit organization dedicated to enriching the lives of New York City’s youth through the sport of fencing.

Cottingham is in the Columbia Hall of Fame as an individual and 1987 team member and is the recipient of the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award. The Silver Anniversary Awards are given out annually and recognizes up to six student-athletes on the 25th anniversary following the conclusion of their collegiate careers.